Line 16

Beijing Metro Line 16


On November 28, 2015, BJMTR signs the Public-Private Partnership (PPP) Concession Agreement for Beijing Metro Line 16 (BJL16) with Beijing Municipal Government, under which BJMTR could invest in, construct, and operate Line 16 within the concession period of 30 years. The construction of Line 16 consists of part A (tunnels, station structure etc.) and B (rolling stocks, signaling systems, ticket machines etc.), Beijing Municipal Government is responsible for the investment and construction of the part A and BJMTR of the part B. The total amount of investment made by BJMTR is 15 billion RMB. 


Line 16 connects Bei’anhe in the north outside the 6th ring and Wanping in the south. It goes through Haidian, Xicheng, and Fengtai Districts, linking up important functional areas of the city, such as Shanhou in Haidian, SanLiHe Administration Center, Fengtai Railway Station, LiZe CBD and Fengtai Technology Park. It is 48.9 km long with 30 underground stations of which 12 are interchange stations. BJL16 is the first line in Beijing to introduce 8-car type A trains.


The north section (Bei’anhe station – Xi Yuan station) of Line 16 opens for trial operation on December 31, 2016. As Nongda Nanlu station opens on December 30, 2017, all the 10 stations officially commence service.


On December 31, 2020, the middle section of Line 16(Xi Yuan station to Ganjia Kou station) is seamlessly connected to the north section of Line 16 (Bei’anhe station to Xi Yuan station) and opens for trial operation. There are 7 stations on the middle section of Line 16, among which Erligou station opens on March 18, 2023, while the opening of Suzhou Jie station is suspended.


On December 31, 2021, Yuyuantan Park East Gate station of Line 16 commences service.


On December 31, 2022, south section of Line 16(Muxidi station to Yushuzhuang station) opens for trial operation, connecting seamlessly with the north section (Bei’anhe station to Xi Yuan station) and middle sectionXi Yuan station to Yuyuantan Park East Gate station. There are 10 stations on the south section of Line 16. The opening of Lize Shangwuqu station is suspended.


On December 30, 2023, the remaining sections of Line 16, including Hongtaizhuang station, Wanpingcheng station, and Suzhou Jie station, are opened. With this, Line 16 commences full line operation.